First annual Westys Awards will take place on May 18


The First Annual Westys Athletic Awards Banquet will take place on May 18 with the ceremony starting at 7pm in the Westwood High School auditorium. Beginning at 6pm, the athletes will walk the red carpet and take photos and interviews in the gym atrium lobby. The ceremony will also be broadcast live on

In addition to the awards being presented, all A Honor Roll and A/B Honor Roll student-athletes who achieved these grades during their sports seasons will be recognized. Listed below are the categories of awards and the student-athletes nominated by their coaches for each category:

Best Female Single Game Performance:

Girls Basketball–Unique Drake

Volleyball–Jaida Carter

Girls Soccer–Emma Howe

Girls Softball — Mackenzie Turner

Best Male Single Game Performance:

Football–Rudy Mitchell

Wrestling– Evan Carrigan

Baseball: Lamar Gregory

Female Play Of the Year:

Girls Basketball–Taylor Britt

Girls Basketball– Unique Drake

Volleyball–Madison Oxendine, Quierra West, Jaida Carter

Male Play Of the Year:

Football–Rudy Mitchell

Track–Rudy Mitchell

Baseball: Vance Summers

Basketball: Jordan Watson

Female Newcomer of the Year:

Girls Tennis–Victoria Notšovnaja

Girls Basketball–Unique Drake

Girls Basketball–Maliyah Lockett

Girls Basketball–Taylor Britt

Girls Basketball–Essence Marshall

Volleyball–Ta’Naya Corley

Softball- Cayla Petty

Male Newcomer of the Year:

Boys Basketball–Russell Jones Jr.

Boys Cross Country–Paul McCants

Boys Soccer–Amir McCall

Boys Golf–Kendall Wallace

Baseball–Lamar Gregory

Female Team of the Year:

Girls Basketball

Girls Soccer

Male Team of the Year:




Female Highest GPA of the Year:  

Anna Bramlette

Male Highest GPA of the Year:

Kaden Briggs

Female Redhawk Award (student with high morals, serves in community, school participation:

Basketball – Alaina Smith

Volleyball –Madison Oxendine

Male Redhawk Award (student with high morals, serves in community, school participation:

Lacrosse–Tyler Endsley

Baseball: Duncan White

Wrestling: Nick Hooks

Wrestling: Desean Harrington

Female Athlete of the Year:

Basketball – Unique Drake

Basketball – Mya Belton

Volleyball –Jaida Carter

Volleyball –Madison Oxendine

Girls Track–Diamond Rush

Male Athlete of the Year:

Wrestling–Evan Carrigan

Football–Rudy Mitchell

Football–Dareius McCaskill

Baseball–TJ White

Coach of the Year:

Wrestling–Ashley Powell

Girls Basketball–

Baseball–Jonathan Burroughs

Assistant Coach of the Year:

Football–Nick Pelham

Girls Basketball–Tonja Eaddy